Monday, March 24, 2008

Master Works Series: A Night in Old Vienna

A Night in Old Vienna
Holland Center
March 28-29, 8:00p.m

Thomas Wilkins, conductor
Amy Schwartz Moretti, violin

Spend a night celebrating Vienna's rich cultural heritage and greatest composers. The Omaha Symphony’s MasterWorks Series continues on March 28th and 29th with A NIGHT IN OLD VIENNA. You can enjoy two different takes on the Viennese waltz, Mozart’s clean and invigorating Turkish Concerto and Mahler’s ardent Adagietto from his 5th Symphony. Other composers on the program include Maurice Ravel and Johann Strauss Jr. Both concerts take place at 8:00 p.m. in the Holland Performing Arts Center.

The program for the two night event:

Im Sommerwind
Anton Webern (1883-1945)

Violin Concerto No.5, "Turkish"
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Emperor Waltzes, Op. 437
Johann Strauss, Jr. (1825-1899)

Adagietto (Symphony No. 5)
Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)

La Valse
Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)

For more details on the evening's program, read up on the program notes.

No comments:


Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.